football announces All-SEC Team, Predictions

Image unavailable osqizb
TUSCALOOSA, Ala -- South Carolina has been projected to win the Southeastern Conference Championship by the college baseball web site The Gamecocks edged 2004 Division Champion Georgia for the Eastern Division nod while LSU received the honor in the Western Division over talent rich Ole Miss and the 2004 Division Champion Arkansas.
Ole Miss two-way star Stephen Head received recognition as the Preseason SEC Player of the Year. Head, a junior first baseman/lefthanded pitcher was named the SEC Player of the Year last season. Ole Miss placed six players on the preseason All-SEC team - including Head and pitcher Mark Holliman on the first team.
South Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama each placed five players on the squad, consisting of three 15 player teams. Alabama sophomore Wade LeBlanc was named's Preseason SEC Pitcher of the Year after capturing the Freshman of the Year award last season. Florida junior righthander Alan Horne was named the Newcomer of the Year.
All twelve clubs placed at least two players on the 45 man roster. will continue their all-conference teams and projected finishes for other leagues in the coming days culiminating in an All-SEBaseball team consisting of players from teams in the Southern states.
SEC Predicted Finish
1. South Carolina
2. Georgia
3. Vanderbilt
4. Florida
5. Tennessee
6. Kentucky
1. LSU
2. Ole Miss
3. Arkansas
4. Mississippi State
5. Alabama
6. Auburn
Projected overall champion: South Carolina
All-SEC - First Team
1B Josh Morris, Georgia
2B Warner Jones, Vanderbilt
3B Steve Pearce, South Carolina
SS Steven Tolleson, South Carolina
C Matt Liuzza, LSU
OF Brad Corley, Mississippi State
OF Ryan Patterson, LSU
OF Clete Thomas, Auburn
DH Alex Suarez, Tennessee
UT Stephen Head, Ole Miss
SP Wade LeBlanc, Alabama
SP Mark Holliman, Ole Miss
SP Luke Hochevar, Tennessee
SP Ryan Mullins, Vanderbilt
RP Will Startup, Georgia
Player of the Year: Stephen Head, Ole Miss
Pitcher of the Year: Wade LeBlanc, Alabama
Newcomer of the Year: Alan Horne, Florida
All-SEC - Second Team
1B Danny Hamblin, Arkansas
2B Adam Davis, Florida
3B Evan Bush, Alabama
SS Josh Smith, Georgia
C Barry Gunther, Ole Miss
OF Brendan Winn, South Carolina
OF Michael Campbell, South Carolina
OF Eli Iorg, Tennessee
DH Matt LaPorta, Florida
UT Brandon Belcher, Alabama
SP Charley Boyce, Arkansas
SP Lane Mestepey, LSU
SP Aaron Rawl, South Carolina
SP Connor Falkenbach, Florida
RP Darren O'Day, Florida
All-SEC - Third Team
1B Karl Amonite, Auburn
2B Allen Rice, Alabama
3B Chris Coghlan, Ole Miss
SS Scott Hode, Arkansas
C Kody Valverde, Alabama
OF Jeff Corsaletti, Florida
OF Alex Presley, Ole Miss
OF Billy Grace, Kentucky
DH Nick Stavinoha, LSU
UT Brian Pettway, Ole Miss
SP Kalen Gibson, Kentucky
SP Sean Ruthven, Georgia
SP Michael Hyle, Georgia
SP Arnold Hughey, Auburn
RP Saunders Ramsey, Miss State
For more on the SEC race, subscribers can go Behind the Scenes and get the scoop on the analysis behind the picks ...