Regional Hosts Sites Announced

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 62nd annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.
The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Sunday, May 25, are as follows: Arizona State (45-11), Tempe, Ariz.; Cal State Fullerton (37-18 through Saturday, May 24), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (47-12), Conway, S.C.; Florida St. (48-10), Tallahassee, Fla.; Georgia (35-21-1), Athens, Ga.; Long Beach State (36-19; through Saturday, May 24), Long Beach, Calif.; LSU (43-16-1), Baton Rouge, La.; Miami (Fla.) (47-8); Coral Gables, Fla..; Michigan (45-12), Ann Arbor, Mich.; Nebraska (40-14-1), Lincoln, Neb.; North Carolina (46-12), Chapel Hill, N.C.; North Carolina State (38-20), Raleigh, N.C.; Oklahoma State (42-16), Stillwater, Okla.; Rice (42-13), Houston; Stanford (33-20-2), Stanford, Calif.; Texas A&M (43-16) College Station, Texas.
The regional hosted by North Carolina will be played at USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C.
By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field. Cal State Fullerton, Coastal Carolina, Florida State, Georgia, Long Beach State, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Oklahoma State, Rice, Stanford and Texas A&M have made the field as at-large selections. Arizona State (Pacific-10), LSU (Southeastern), Miami (Fla.) (Atlantic Coast) and Michigan (Big Ten) have clinched automatic berths by virtue of winning their conference tournament championship.
Cal State Fullerton or Long Beach State will win the Big West Conference automatic berth, while the other team will earn an at-large berth. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 30, to Monday, June 2.
This will be the 27th time that Florida State has hosted a regional. Miami (Fla.) is hosting for the 21st time. Arizona State and LSU are both hosting for the 18th time. Stanford (14th) and Oklahoma State (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.
Cal St. Fullerton, Rice and Texas A&M are hosting a regional for the seventh time, while Michigan and Nebraska are hosting for the sixth time. This marks the first time for Michigan to host since 1986.
Georgia, Long Beach State and North Carolina are hosting for the fourth time. Coastal Carolina and North Carolina State are hosting only for the second time. Seven institutions (Arizona State, Coastal Carolina, Florida State, Long Beach State, North Carolina, Rice and Texas A&M) also hosted in 2007.
The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 26, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).
Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 62nd Men's College World Series begins play Saturday, June 14, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.
Atlantic Coast 4 (Florida State, Miami (Fla.), North Carolina, North Carolina State)
Big 12 3 (Nebraska, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M)
Big West 2 (Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State)
Pacific-10 2 (Arizona State, Stanford)
Southeastern 2 (Georgia, LSU)
Big South 1 (Coastal Carolina)
Big Ten 1 (Michigan)
Conference USA 1 (Rice)