Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

May 31, 2011

Our Annual NIT Field

Fear not, Ole Miss, LSU, and Auburn, your disappointing seasons have one final honor. You are in SEBaseball.com's annual NIT field.

The teams will meet in the familiar NCAA style bracket before finally culminating in an eight-team final in Quahog, Rhode Island. Sponsored by the Happy-Go-Lucky Toy Factory and the Pawtucket Brewery, the NIT field has become synonymous with the best of second-tier sporting events like the World Cup, the NBA Finals, and the Indianapolis 500.

To be eligible for the 64 team NIT, teams needed at least a .500 overall record, an impressive resume, and a lack of representation on the NCAA Selection Committee.

While the selection criteria remained the same, the committee continued their trend of rotating which criteria will carry the most weight.

"We spin the wheel and see where it goes," NIT Selection Committee Chairman Willie Everlearn explained. "We were a bit surprised when it passed by computer rating, quality wins, and conference finish to land on animal mascots."

Everlearn went on to explain that teams were not excluded if the mascots were not animals, they just could not host any of four team Regionals.

"I think our committee did a better job of putting the mascot type where it should be as a single tool to evaluate," Everlearn said. "Often, that becomes bigger than it really should be. As a committee, we probably did not use the mascot type as the hammer that it has been perceived to be in recent years."

Auburn was a controversial pick because by NCAA rules their .500 overall record makes them ineligible for the postseason.

"There were some other teams we considered but in the end the committee felt their animal mascot - a fierce jungle Tiger at that - was more impressive than a color or a fruit mascot," said Everlearn.

Ole Miss was an interesting case as they received a host site despite their mascot officially being the Rebels. Everlearn explained that the recent transition from Colonel Rebel to a Black Bear gave the committee the latitude to reward them.

"Everyone wondered all this time what was behind the change to Black Bears," said Everlearn. "Now you know."

The committee also utilized the OPI ratings system. The OPI - Optional Performance Index - differs from other ratings systems because teams have the option of choosing which results count.

"With those other ratings systems, people are always complaining," said Everlearn. "The West coast schools hate the RPI. The Southern schools hate the ISR. But everyone likes the OPI. If you have a bad loss, just don't count that game. The teams, especially the bad ones, love it."

Other members of the committee included a lacrosse goalie from Maryland, an alligator hunter from Louisiana, and airline pilot from Quahog. While none of the committee members had actually seen a college baseball game, they were able to determine which teams would have their seasons continue in this hallowed classic dubbed "The Road to Quahog".

2011 NIT Field
Nittany Lion Regional
Host: Penn State
1. Pittsburgh
4. Penn State

2. Monmouth
3. Marist

Ram Regional
Host: Rhode Island
1. Rhode Island
4. Rider

2. Stony Brook
3. Dartmouth

Hokie Regional
Host: Virginia Tech
1. Virginia Tech
4. Appalachian State

2. Liberty
3. Old Dominion

Cougar Regional
Host: College of Charleston
1. Florida Atlantic
4. Delaware

2. North Carolina Greensboro
3. College of Charleston

Seahawk Regional
Host: North Carolina-Wilmington
1. Elon
4. Gardner-Webb

2. East Tennessee State
3. North Carolina-Wilmington

Lion Regional
Host: Southeastern Louisiana
1. LSU
4. Tulane

2. Southeastern Louisiana
3. Louisiana-Lafayette

Jaguar Regional
Host: South Alabama
1. UAB
4. Jacksonville State

2. South Alabama
3. Samford

Black Bear Regional
Host: Ole Miss
1. Ole Miss
4. Southeast Missouri State

2. Memphis
3. Louisiana Tech

Bear Regional
Host: Mercer
1. Mercer
4. Kennesaw State

2. Auburn
3. Georgia State

Bearkat Regional
Host: Sam Houston State
1. Sam Houston State
4. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

2. Texas Tech
3. Stephen F Austin

Cardinal Regional
Host: Louisville
1. Western Kentucky
4. Miami-Ohio

2. Louisville
3. Indiana

Yet Another Bear Regional
Host: Missouri State
1. Missouri State
4. Purdue

2. Wichita State
3. Nebraska

Gopher Regional
Host: Minnesota
1. Michigan State
4. Eastern Michigan

2. Illinois State
3. Minnesota

Lion Regional
Host: Loyola Marymount
1. Cal State Bakersfield
4. San Jose State

2. Loyola Marymount
3. Long Beach State

Duck Regional
Host: Oregon
1. Oregon
4. UC Riverside

2. Hawaii
3. Gonzaga

Wolverine Regional
Host: Utah Valley State
1. Utah
4. Utah Valley State

3. New Mexico State

SuperRegional matchups are side-by-side


SEBaseball.com NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos SEBaseball.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.